What Do You Do When Your Character Disagrees With Your Story Line?


I’ve come to an impasse. After writing several chapters, I have come to know my main characters well. So well that when I sit down to write, I often simply record the story as they play it out. But now I’ve come to a point when my protagonist is about to reveal a key item from her past – a major motivator in the current situation – but the person she has turned out to be simply would not have been involved in that situation.

So my question: Do I change my story line to accommodate the character that has evolved, or do I scrap the character and rewrite someone to fit the story?

For now, I will move on to another project, but I would welcome suggestions.

2 thoughts on “What Do You Do When Your Character Disagrees With Your Story Line?

    • That would be a third option. If I can come up with a different occurrence in her past that would still bring her to where she is now, and prevent her from moving toward the ultimate goal… I could save both the character and story. Great input, thank you!

Comments are encouraged:

